Databases and Online Resources
Serving Penfield's Business Community
Penfield Library's Small Business Page
Inside the Penfield Library Only
American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory: detailed listings for thousands of large and small wholesalers and distributors throughout the United States and Puerto Rico.
Ancestry.com: Census, marriage, birth, death records and more.
Mango: An online language-learning system that can help you learn Spanish, French, Japanese, German, Chinese, Russian, Italian and more. This resource is available for Penfield patrons only. Call 340-8720 and choose option ‘2’ from the voice menu to speak to a librarian regarding login information.
National E-Mail & Fax Directory: up-to-date contact information on a wide range of major businesses, associations, corporations, educational institutions, government agencies, labor unions, manufacturers, media and publishing organizations, medical and health facilities and nonprofit organizations.
Novelist: Readers’ advisory service with author read-alikes, book discussion guides, reading lists, and more. (You may also access this site from home, but you will be prompted for your library card number.)
Inside Any Monroe County Library
You may also use these sites from home but you will be prompted for your library card number.
Academic OneFile: Periodicals covering a broad range of material: arts, business, education, general reference, health, law, medicine, sciences, social sciences, technology, and other subjects. Abstracts.
AtoZdatabases: The database includes 2.3 million job listings, 30 million business & executive profiles, 1.1 million healthcare professionals, and much more. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!
Business Insights: Essentials: Includes company profiles, industry reports and financial reports, as well as business magazines and newspapers.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance: Database of all Federal programs available to State and local governments.
Consumer Reports: Find product ratings and reviews, in-depth advice, tips and trends, and recommendations and buying advice for thousands of products and services.
EBSCO GreenFILE: Scholarly and general interest titles as well as government documents and reports, focusing on the relationship between human beings and the government.
EBSCO Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
This world-class bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. With coverage dating back back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.
EBSCO Teacher Reference Center: Covers topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics for K-12 teachers and librarians.
eLibrary Elementary: Proquest's colorful, graphical search interface helps students find the answers they need from more than 130 magazines, newspapers, books, transcripts, maps, images, weblinks, and audio/video titles, all selected as appropriate for elementary school studies. The wealth of resources support student inquiry whether it's fact checking, homework help, or personal interest.
GALE Custom Newspapers (New York State Newspapers): Eight full-text newspapers from Buffalo, New York City and Syracuse. Including: The Buffalo News and the Syracuse Post-Standard.
GALE Custom Newspapers (all): Database of 150 full-text newspapers, including the New York Times (most recent 12 months), Christian Science Monitor, Boston Herald, and the Denver Post.
Gale Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online: Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which over its 30-year history has been dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
Gale Literary Criticism Online
Gale takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It's all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today's researchers demand.
Gale National Newspaper Index: Provides indexing of America’s top five newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, and The Washington Post.
Gale Something About the Author Online
Provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Trusted and authoritative digital reference books covering everything from biography, business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, our nation and the world, religion, science and social issues. All sources are full-text, available 24/7, translatable into 11 languages, offer text-to-speech capability and options to print, email and download articles. (You may also access this site from home, but you will be prompted for your library card number.)
Gannett Newsstand: Over 85 Gannett newspapers, 6 of which are New York newspapers. These include the Ithaca Journal, Poughkeepsie Journal, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Journal News (White Plains), Press and Sun Bulletin (Binghamton) and Star-Gazette (Elmira).
General OneFile: News and periodical articles on many topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many more. Abstracts and some full text.
Global Road Warrior: From travel planning to school work, Global Road Warrior connects you with information about countries around the world. Explore hotels, customs, history, business, culture, maps, and even recipes!
Grolier’s Encyclopedia : Includes the Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia encyclopedia, and the New Book of Knowledge.
Health Reference Center Academic: Full text of medical, nursing, and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of consumer health sources. Full text, abstracts.
HeritageQuest: Genealogy resources including the Federal Censuses, over 25,000 family and local histories, bank and military records, and genealogical and local history resources.
InfoTrac Newsstand: Innovative web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Search a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers, then select your won screen appearance, search options and results format.
Kids Infobits: Developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. Covers geography,current events, the arts , science, health, people, government, history, sports and morre.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Full-text articles covering today’s hottest social issues.
World Cat via OCLC First Search: OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Funding for WorldCat is provided by the Rochester Regional Library Council through a grant from the New York State Education Department.
From Any Internet Computer
Monroe County Library System
Rochester Images: Over 22,000 historical and contemporary images from Rochester and Monroe County.
Rochester History: Journal covering the history of Rochester and western New York. Articles available from 1939—present.
Clic-on-Health: Comprehensive site for Rochester health information. Funding for CLIC-on-Health is provided by a grant from Senator Jim Alesi and the Rochester Regional Library Council.
Community Information: Links to sites providing information about cultural activities and events, human services organizations, government, and sports and recreation for the Rochester area.
Thomas Register: Industrial services and products.
DepositAccounts.com: unbiased, comprehensive and up-to-date bank account comparison site. Find evaluations of American banks and comparisons of bank rates for savings and checking accounts as well as for CDs, Money Markets and IRAs.
Basic ESL online English language learning program: