Monroe County Library System NY
Monroe County Library System image


     
Library Applications

See Our Online Sponsors


Staff Picks and More!



   

Link to Facebook

 Link to Twitter

 
Title Not Specified! > Ask a Librarian > Databases

Magazines & Databases
Loading...

These databases are available in every public library in Monroe County, and from your PC at home or at work. Check with individual libraries and divisions for specific products not listed here.

Search databases alphabetically by title (below):

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W-Z


Trouble connecting? See our database help.


Academic OneFilenovelny
Periodicals covering a broad range of material: arts, business, education, general reference, health, law, literature, medicine, sciences, social sciences, technology, and other subjects. Type: Abstracts and some full-text. 

Business and Company Resource Centernovelny
This fully integrated business resource includes company profiles, rankings and market share information, investment reports, company histories, industry profiles and news, and periodicals from General Business File. Use our interactive tutorial to learn the most effective way to search this database. 


Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Database of all Federal programs available to State and local governments.

CLIC-on-Health rrlclogo
A "one-stop-shopping" site for Rochester health information. Funding for CLIC-on-Health is provided by a grant from NY Senator Jim Alesi and the Rochester Regional Library Council.

  
EBSCO GreenFILE
A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.

EBSCOHost Español novelny
Master File Select, Primary Search, Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia, General Science Collection, and EBSCO Animals databases in the Spanish language.


EBSCO Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
This world-class bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. With coverage dating back back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.


EBSCO Teacher Reference Center (TRC)
This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 teachers and librarians.

Gale Newsstandnovelny
This full-text newspaper database has several New York Newspapers including the New York Times from 1995 on, and over 1,000 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers.

Gale Custom Newspapers (New York State Newspapers) novelny
Eight full-text newspapers for New York State (from Buffalo, New York City and Syracuse) including: The Buffalo News and the Syracuse Post-Standard.

Gale National Newspaper Index novelny
Provides indexing of American's top five newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, and The Washington Post.

General OneFilenovelny
This database contains news and periodical articles on many topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many more. Type: Abstracts and some full text.


Global Road Warrior
From travel planning to school work, Global Road Warrior connects you with information about countries around the world. Explore hotels, customs, history, business culture, maps and even recipes!

Grolier Online novelny
Includes the Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, and The New Book of Knowledge.


Health Reference Center Academicnovelny
Database contains the full-text of medical, nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of consumer health sources. Type: Full text, abstracts.


HeritageQuest
A powerful and popular )genealogical resource that includes the Federal Censuses, over 25,000 family and local histories, bank and military records, and genealogical and local history sources.


JobNow/Adult Learning Centernovelny
JobNow / Adult Learning Center is made possible through a federal American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) Broadband Technology Opportunity Program (BTOP) award funded through the New York State Education Department/New York State Library.


Library Catalog 
The online catalog of the holdings of the Monroe County Library System. 

Primary Search via Kids Search novelny
Children's magazines and pamphlets, designed for the elementary school student.

Primary Search via SEARCHASAURUS novelny
Children's magazines and pamphlets, designed for the elementary school student.


Rochester History
Rochester History is a journal that covers the history of Rochester and western New York. All articles are available on-line - from 1939 to the present.


Rochester Images
Contains over 22,000 historical and contemporary images from Rochester and Monroe County.

Twayne's Author Seriesnovelny
Twayne World, US, and English Authors each contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary Masters books on individual World, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 individual full-text titles.

 

Virtual Reference Desk
The Virtual Reference Desk is a collection of web resources compiled and maintained by staff of the Monroe County Library System.

WorldCat via OCLC FirstSearchrrlclogo
OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Funding for WorldCat is provided by the Rochester Regional Library Council through a grant from the New York State Education Department.



This webpage was supported by Federal Library Services and Technology Act Funds, awarded to the New York State Library by the Federal Institute of Museum and Library Services.

 

 

 





  Monroe County WebsiteCity of Rochester Website