These databases are available in every public library in Monroe County, and from your PC at home or at work. Check with individual libraries and divisions for specific products not listed here.
Search databases alphabetically by title (below):
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W-Z
Trouble connecting? See our database help.
Periodicals covering a broad range of material: arts, business, education, general reference, health, law, literature, medicine, sciences, social sciences, technology, and other subjects. Type: Abstracts and some full-text.
Alternative Energy Resource Center
From Plunkett Research, the Alternative & Renewable Energy research center offers Industry Market Research, Statistics, Trends and Leading Companies. Key features include industry trends analysis, market data and competitive intelligence; market forecasts and industry statistics; as well as in-depth profiles of hundreds of leading companies.
Alternative Energy Almanac
From Plunkett Research, a complete guide to the business of renewable, alternative and hydrogen energy.
Business Insights: Essentials
Includes company profiles, industry reports and financial reports, as well as business magazines and newspapers.
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
Database of all Federal programs available to State and local governments.
A "one-stop-shopping" site for Rochester health information, CLIC-on-Health is administered by the Rochester Regional Library Council. Funding for CLIC-on-Health is provided by a grant from NY Senator Jim Alesi and the Rochester Regional Library Council.
Find product ratings and reviews, in-depth advice, tips and trends, and recommendations and buying advice for thousands of products and services.
A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.
EBSCO Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
This world-class bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. With coverage dating back back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.
EBSCO Teacher Reference Center (TRC)
This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 teachers and librarians.
Contains over 140 magazines and books for elementary students. Also includes the American Heritage Dictionary.
Gale Custom Newspapers (New York State Newspapers)
Eight full-text newspapers for New York State (from Buffalo, New York City and Syracuse) including: The Buffalo News and the Syracuse Post-Standard.
Gale National Newspaper Index
Provides indexing of American's top five newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, and The Washington Post.
Gale Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which over its 30-year history has been dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
Gale Directory Of Early Stage Investment
Covers the several types of early stage investors including: venture capitalists, business incubators, angel investors and angel groups, corporate investment divisions, crowd-funding and co-operative groups.
Gale Literary Criticism Online
Gale takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It's all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today's researchers demand.
Gale Something About the Author Online
Provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Trusted and authoritative digital reference books covering everything from biography, business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, our nation and the world, religion, science and social issues. All sources are full-text, available 24/7, translatable into 11 languages, offer text-to-speech capability and options to print, email and download articles.
Contains over 85 Gannett newspapers, 6 of which are New York newspapers. These include the Ithaca Journal, Poughkeepsie Journal, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Journal News (White Plains), Press and Sun-Bulletin (Binghamton) and Star-Gazette (Elmira).
This database contains news and periodical articles on many topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many more. Type: Abstracts and some full text.
Global Road Warrior
From travel planning to school work, Global Road Warrior connects you with information about countries around the world. Explore hotels, customs, history, business culture, maps and even recipes!
From Plunkett Research, the Green Technology research center offers Industry Market Research, Statistics, Trends and Leading Companies. Key features include industry trends analysis, market data and competitive intelligence; market forecasts and industry statistics; as well as in-depth profiles of hundreds of leading companies. Coming in March 2014, the Green Technology Almanac!
Includes the Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, and The New Book of Knowledge.
Health Reference Center Academic
Database contains the full-text of medical, nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of consumer health sources. Type: Full text, abstracts.
A powerful and popular genealogical resource that includes the Federal Censuses, over 25,000 family and local histories, bank and military records, and genealogical and local history ources.
InfoTrac Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Finally, a one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives. You can customize your online newspaper database features including search options. With InfoTrac Newsstand, you can search a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers, then select your own screen appearance, search options and results format.
Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate, full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
The online catalog of the holdings of the Monroe County Library System.
Contains a range of perspectives on many important issues, with over 13,000 pro/con viewpoints. Includes a variety of resource types: reference, news, primary sources, multimedia and more.
ReferenceUSA is a research tool for public and academic libraries, and offers database access to U.S. and Canadian businesses and residential listings, as well as U.S healthcare, consumer and movers databases.
History is a journal that covers the history of Rochester and western New York. All articles are available on-line - from 1939 to the present.
Contains over 22,000 historical and contemporary images from Rochester and Monroe County.
The Central Library is pleased to offer the TechAuthority database which provides repair information, technical service bulletins, and more, for the majority of Chrysler, Dodge and Jeep Vehicles. This database is only available inside your local library. Be sure to ask a librarian to log you in.
Virtual Reference Desk
The Virtual Reference Desk is a collection of web resources compiled and maintained by staff of the Monroe County Library System.
WorldCat via OCLC FirstSearch
OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.